2018 Indigenous Women in Leadership Award

    You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

2018 Indigenous Women in Leadership Award

Event Information
Author pmnationtalk
Start Date/Time 23rd Apr Mon PM 5:30 (GMT -5)
End Date/Time 23rd Apr Mon PM 9:00 (GMT -5)
Location ON
Contact Viktoriya Zadorozhna
Type Public

2018 Indigenous Women in Leadership Award

To request an invoice, please contact Viktoriya Zadorozhna.

If you have any issues, please contact Gloria Truong.

The Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business is pleased to announce Indspire President & CEO, Roberta Jamieson O.C., I.P.C., LL.B., LL.D. (Hon). as the recipient of the 2018 Indigenous Women in Leadership (IWIL) Award!

Roberta Jamieson is a Mohawk woman who has enjoyed a distinguished career of firsts. She was the first First Nation woman in Canada to earn a law degree; the first non-parliamentarian appointed an ex-officio member of a House of Commons Committee; the first woman Ombudsman of Ontario; and the first woman elected Chief of the Six Nations of the Grand River Territory, where she continues to reside with her family. An accomplished expert in alternative dispute resolution, Roberta also served as Commissioner of the Indian Commission of Ontario.

Under Roberta’s leadership, Indspire has flourished. Raising funds from government, corporate and private sectors, Indspire’s annual disbursements of bursaries and scholarships to support Indigenous students in post-secondary education have increased sevenfold. An innovative K-12 Indspire Institute was launched providing support to educators and communities working to improve educational outcomes with culturally grounded curriculum and techniques. Roberta is also the Executive Producer of the annual Indspire Achievement Awards.

Roberta, a long time advocate for greater diversity on corporate boards, is a member of Hydro One’s Board of Directors and  a member of Gender Equality Advisory Council for Canada’s G7 Presidency.

She has earned numerous awards, including, most recently, YWCA’s President’s Award and Women’s Executive Network’s “Canada’s Most Powerful Women” Hall of Fame, as well as 25 honorary degrees. In 2015, Ms. Jamieson was recognized by the Public Policy Forum for the outstanding contributions she has made to the quality of public policy and good governance.

Read More

Send To Friend Email Print Story

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More