2016 Press Release for Winners of the APAC Aboriginal Achievement Awards

    You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

2016 Press Release for Winners of the APAC Aboriginal Achievement Awards

by ahnationtalk on June 1, 2016666 Views


2016 Press Release for Winners of the APAC Aboriginal
Achievement Awards

June 1, 2016, Toronto: The Aboriginal Professional Association of Canada (APAC), is pleased to announce the winners for the 2016 APAC Aboriginal Achievement Awards. APAC will be presenting awards to one male and female professional, and a student. Winners will be awarded an art piece by Patrick Hunter, an Ojibway artist/graphic designer from Red Lake, Ontario.

The awards ceremony will be held on Thursday, June 16, 2016 from 5:30 PM to 9:30 PM at The Tempered Room, 1374 Queen Street West, Toronto, ON. To register for the event, please visit the link below:


The 2016 APAC Aboriginal Professional Achievement Awards has been generously sponsored by Bruce Power.


About the Awards:

As part of APAC’s founding pillars, recognizing excellence includes sharing success stories from Aboriginal professionals and students across Canada. Each year APAC’s Recognizing Excellence program culminates in June to honour Aboriginal History Month. APAC celebrates Aboriginal leaders within our community at the annual APAC Aboriginal Professional Achievement Award Ceremony. The APAC Aboriginal Achievement Award is designed to recognize leadership achievements in the Aboriginal professional community. APAC will be awarding 3 remarkable individuals previously recognized in APAC’S Recognizing Excellence Program with an Aboriginal Professional Achievement Award. The recipients will represent the positive attributes of Aboriginal leadership and will have contributed to helping to inspire Aboriginal success. Award winners will be entered into the APAC Hall of Excellence.

The winners for the 2016 APAC Aboriginal Achievement Award include:

Collin Faubert (Male Professional Category)

  • Member of Temagami First Nation
  • Lead Negotiator, Department of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

Kandice Baptiste (Female Professional Category)

  • Member of Tyendinaga Mohawk Territory
  • Senior Project Coordinator, Council of Ontario Universities

Jesse Thistle (Student Category)

  • Métis-Cree from Saskatchewan..
  • First Story, Rupertsland Institute: Métis Centre of Excellence, National Representative for Aboriginal Homelessness at Canadian Observatory on Homelessness, and Independent Historical Researcher.

Harry Hall, VP, Supply Chain at Bruce Power will provide the keynote address along with presenting the awards to the recipients.  A guest speaker address will be completed by Dr. Sheila Cote-Meek, Associate VP, Academic & Indigenous Programs at Laurentian University.

About APAC:

The Aboriginal Professional Association of Canada was founded in 2011, and aims to foster and showcase world class leadership from coast-to-coast. APAC is dedicated to advancing Aboriginal leadership across Canada in the private, public and social sectors.  APAC offers First Nations, Métis and Inuit professionals a supportive community and platform to continually develop as dynamic leaders. APAC serves Aboriginal professionals through skill building, network development and the recognition of excellence. For more information please visit: http://www.aboriginalprofessionals.org/


Jarret Leaman
Executive Director
Aboriginal Professional Association of Canada
Email: [email protected]
Tel: (416) 275-4774

Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More