NAN Recognizes Outstanding Contributions of Community Members, Honours Past Leaders

    You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

NAN Recognizes Outstanding Contributions of Community Members, Honours Past Leaders

by ahnationtalk on August 11, 202225 Views

August 10, 2022

TIMMINS, ON: Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN) Grand Chief Derek Fox and members of the Executive Council congratulate recipients of the 2022 Keewaywin Awards for their outstanding leadership, accomplishments, and contributions to our Nations.

“We are pleased to congratulate this year’s recipients and we are proud to honour our past Grand Chiefs for their tireless efforts and significant contributions to our Nation. We acknowledge the outstanding accomplishments and commitments they have made to improving the lives of our people and strengthening our communities,” said Grand Chief Derek Fox. “It is important that we take time when we gather to recognize the contributions that our leaders and citizens make to our communities and celebrate their success. Their dedication and accomplishments are inspiring.”

Award recipients include:

  • Youth Outstanding Service Award: Sandy Lake Patrol
  • Elder Recognition Award: Delores McKay, Mattagami First Nation
  • Woman Award: Vanessa Genier, Missanabie Cree First Nation
  • Emile Nakogee Award for Outstanding Leadership: Chief Russell Wesley, Cat Lake First Nation
  • Youth Leadership/Community Involvement Award: Jamal Gagnon, Taykwa Tagamou Nation
  • Youth Academic Award: Logan Metatawabin, Kashechewan First Nation
  • Youth Community Involvement Award: North Caribou Lake Youth Council
  • NAN Staff Award: Stewart Kamenawatamin, Bearskin Lake First Nation

Recipients were honoured at a banquet this evening during the 40th Keewaywin Conference, held August 9-11 in the traditional territory of Mattagami First Nation.

NAN also honored all former Grand Chiefs for their outstanding leadership and dedication, including Andrew Rickard, 1973-77 (Grand Council Treaty No. 9), 1978-1979 (Nishnawbe Aski Nation); Dennis Cromarty, 1980-1981, 1984-1988; Wally McKay, 1981-1983; Frank Beardy, 1983-1984; Bentley Cheechoo, 1988-1994; Charles Fox, 1994-2000; Stan Beardy, 2000-2012; Harvey Yesno, 2012-2015; Alvin Fiddler, 2015-2021.

Former Grand Chiefs Wally McKay, Bentley Cheechoo, Stan Beardy, and Alvin Fiddler were in attendance. NAN Elder Helen Cromarty accepted on behalf of her late husband Dennis Cromarty. Jon Rudy accepted on behalf of his late father Frank Beardy.


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More