Polaris Music Prize announces the 2015 Short List, Fred Penner To Be Polaris Gala Host

    You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Polaris Music Prize announces the 2015 Short List, Fred Penner To Be Polaris Gala Host

by ahnationtalk on July 16, 2015527 Views

TORONTO, ON – Thursday, July 16, 2015.

The 2015 Polaris Music Prize Short List was announced this morning at The Carlu in Toronto. The event was live on TFO’s BRBR and Periscope. Over 150 members of the media and music industry were in attendance.

It was also announced that singer/songwriter Fred Penner will be the host of this year’s Gala event, taking place on September 21st at The Carlu. “I am honoured to be the host for this year’s prize. I have been part of the Canadian music scene for over four dec-ades. As I perform at festivals from coast to coast I am continually impressed with the incredible range of talent we have in this coun-try. I particularly love that Polaris celebrates this musical diversity. The level of prestige involved with this organization is admirable and I am delighted to be associated with it,” said Penner. Fred Penner is a member of the Order of Manitoba and Order of Can-ada.

2015 Polaris Music Prize Short List:

Alvvays – Alvvays

BADBADNOTGOOD & Ghostface Killah – Sour Soul Braids – Deep In The Iris

Caribou – Our Love Jennifer Castle – Pink City

Drake – If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late Tobias Jesso Jr. – Goon

The New Pornographers – Brill Bruisers Buffy Sainte -Marie – Power In The Blood Viet Cong – Viet Cong

Listen to all the Polaris Music Prize nominees of the 2015 Short List playlist on: http://spoti.fi/Polaris

For images from today’s event, album graphics, artist pics and bios visit:

polarismusicprize.ca/media password: m3d1a

The eligibility period for the 2015 Polaris Music Prize runs from June 1, 2014 to May 31, 2015. An independent jury of 196 music journalists, broadcasters and music bloggers from across Canada determines the Long List and Short List. Eleven people are se-lected from the larger jury pool to serve on the Grand Jury. They will convene the night of the gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner.

The Polaris Music Prize will award $50,000 to the artist who cre-ates the Canadian Album of the Year. Courtesy of Slaight Music, each of the nine other short listed artists will receive $3,000. Judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales, the prize’s past winners have included Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Ar-cade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou

(2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Can-ada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters.

About the Polaris Music Prize

The Polaris Music Prize is a not-for-profit organization that annu-ally honours, celebrates and rewards creativity and diversity in Canadian recorded music by recognizing, then marketing the al-bums of the highest artistic integrity, without regard to musical genre, professional affiliation, or sales history, as judged by a panel of selected music critics. The Polaris Music Prize is pro-d u c e d i n a s s o c i a t i o n w i t h B l u e A n t M e d i a . www.polarismusicprize.ca/ @polarisprize


Media Contacts:

Polaris Music Prize media:
Joanne Setterington Indoor Recess (416) 884-4119
Polaris Music Prize media (Quebec):
Magali Ould (514) 994-6295


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More